This is stupid easy and flexible

There are nights like last night where I know I haven’t cooked a winner as far as my oldest son is concerned. He’s very crafty at avoiding eating things he doesn’t like or doesn’t want to try. He’ll drink more milk, draw out the chewing of a previous bite of something else for ten minutes, “think about” which bite he’s going to take and so on. So, what I’ve learned is he needs a win, even on the nights when I’m cooking something I know he might be hesitant to try.

Last night I made a delicious and easy sweet potato stew. It wasn’t quite vegan, because I used some leftover chicken broth from my wife’s Sunday chicken poaching, but it was meatless. I knew the soup needed a bread and rather than just toast a couple of slices, I made a quick batch of Bittman’s flatbread. This killed two birds with one stone: it gave the boy something he would eat–I had written “could eat,” but the source of all of this is that I don’t believe in making him an alternative supper when the one that I’ve made is sufficiently nutritious and well prepared, so he could eat whatever is on his plate–(made from whole wheat flour no less!) and it allowed me to get rid of some leftover coconut milk that I had used in making the stew.

I don’t have time during the week to fiddle with yeasted breads, so it’s likely that if I’m making bread to go with soup it’s going to be cornbread or philpy (scroll down for recipe. It’s a good use for leftover rice.) This flatbread recipe is already in the heavy rotation because of its simplicity and flexibility. Sunday night I tested using it as a crust for homemade pizza, using some leftover spaghetti sauce and the ends of a bag of mozzarella cheese. The flatbread cooks up in a 10 or 12 inch cast iron skillet, separates when it’s close to done. You bring it out, top it and throw it under the broiler for a couple of minutes and voila, pizza. You could also saute some onions and garlic in olive oil, then pour the batter over that and bake it, maybe some curry powder and coconut milk. There are lots of possibilities.

We had been buying frozen pizzas at the Kroger, and while $6 for a pizza and breadsticks is a fantastic deal in comparison to the $15-20 you’ll pay to pick it up at Papa John’s, but everybody in our house likes a thin and crispy crust, and I can freeze breadsticks, so this flatbread pizza recipe may become a Friday night—pizza/movie night—staple.

 

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

